top of page
  • The Hard Hat Belles

5 EASY STEPS TO CLEANING A CEILING FAN

Updated: Jun 5, 2020



Welcome to The Hard Hat Belles way to DIY (do it yourself) and LIY (learn it yourself).  Do it, learn it and laugh!!


We are just so happy that you have stopped by. Grab your coffee or tea and please sit a bit and visit.


Tea for two

Wiebke was the one who came up with idea of cleaning a ceiling fan with a pillow case (I seriously think my fan blades made her crazy), which you can view on YouTube  here or at the bottom of this blog.


I don’t know how it happens, but my ceiling fans just gather dust like spots on a Holstein dairy cow….even though I live on a paved road, my driveway is dirt and I am surrounded by farm land and it is a constant battle to keep the ceiling fans clean.  Now Wiebke’s ceiling fans are always pretty clean.  I don’t know how she does it as she DOES live on a dirt road. Nevertheless,   I cannot say enough about cleaning the fan blades this way except WHY didn’t I know about this sooner.


Cleaning the fan with a pillow case was a piece of cake, but we had to repeat it several times until we finally got into the swing of filming.  So much to learn; script writing, equipment, timing, audio, and filming just amazed us.  We were excited and scared spitless at the same time.  Trust me when I say we are not natural actors (although Wiebke is actually pretty good), but Wiebke and I are really good at having fun with whatever we do.   Come join us, we’re glad you’re here!


This method is super easy and can be done at any time.  All you need is a ceiling fan, a pillow case (I use a dark one which I keep for just that job), gloves (to keep your hands clean – I don’t bother myself as my hands are washable), a pair of goggles (for loose dust) and a step ladder.  I really wished I had known about this several years ago.  My husband was a fan fanatic.  He was always hot and we had one in every room.  Now no more clearing the table or bed before or after cleaning the fan.  It makes me want to do it more often too because now it is not an involved chore.  Five minutes per fan tops!!


HERE ARE FIVE SIMPLE STEPS TO CLEAN YOUR CEILING FAN

  1. Make sure the fan is off as you never know what or who may be hanging around.

Peonie's Fan Ride

2.  Supplies Needed: Goggles, pillow case, gloves and you made need a step stool or ladder to reach your ceiling fan. Please use caution when climbing either item. Please see disclaimer here.


Ceiling fan supplies

CFPillowcase

4.  Press both sides of the pillowcase to the fan blade and drag the pillowcase towards you.


CFbothsides

4a.  Repeat until all blades are dusted.

  1. Shake dust out of the pillowcase outside then toss in the washer.


Ceiling fan washer

Easy, peasy and no mess – I love it and you will too!


To get our updates fill out the form (above at the top and to the left) to subscribe to The Hard Hat Belles blog.


If you haven’t already checked out our YouTube channel you can find us at YouTube channel. Like and subscribe to receive notifications of the latest releases.


We’d love to hear from you – How did our idea work for you? Do you have any great ideas for cleaning and having fun?  What would you like to learn?

Ceiling Fan Verse

Love & Hugs,

Denine & Wiebke


The Hard Hat Belles Logo
1 view

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page