top of page
  • The Hard Hat Belles

Decorate Easter Eggs – Minions, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, & The Hard Hat Belles

Updated: Jun 4, 2020

Decorating Easter Eggs With Character


Hi Y’all,

Come on in and see what we’ve been up to with Easter Egg decorating.  We have all the details y’all need below. So grab your cup-o-stuff and a seat and we’ll get started.


Tea for two

I have always loved decorating Easter Eggs. When my kids were very little I got to shine with my creativity because they had very little interest in decorating other than to color the eggs.  They loved to dunk the eggs in those lovely rainbow colors (later they moved on to stickers and crayons).  I would have to limit their dunks per egg as they felt the more colors the egg was dunked into the better -you know where you end up with a greenish brown yuck color.  We usually ended up with a lot of those anyway.

As time moved on they ended up taking over the Easter egg decorating as their own creativity had taken over.  Where I once reigned I was now regulated to an observer position and if I was fortunate they would ask my opinion once in a while (which drizzled to zilch eventually).  Then I was regulated to the “ooh” and “ahh” position.

To Decorate or Not To Decorate

Minions and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Now that all my kids are grown and busy with their own lives I have been sitting here thinking about “should I” or “shouldn’t I” decorate Easter eggs this year?  Seriously, it’s not a third world problem and probably not a one world problem; but hey – it’s my little world.  I really hadn’t given it much thought until Wiebke and I filmed the video Minion and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Character Easter Eggs (Whew! Pretty long title – say that fast ten times).  Then the “decorate Easter eggs” bug hit me.  I think it is more the memories that are generated when my kids where younger than anything else.  On the other hand, I do like to craft and create and as an extra bonus – I like boiled eggs.

I started thinking about all the different designs on Google, Pinterest, and some magazine websites I looked through (like Real Simple). The decorate some Easter eggs bug is there, but do I have enough time to do it myself.  I have decided that a day or two before Easter I will see if my super busy schedule allows me enough time.  That way I have taken the pressure off and have given myself permission either way.

Egg Safety

In our video and the directions below we used some empty plastic eggs I had laying around my house.  These eggs will last FOREVER!  But if you do like I do and boil “real” eggs to decorate; you will want to know if your raw eggs are fresh and still safe to eat.  Check out this pin  we pinned to our Yummy and Easy Recipe board on Pinterest to find out.

Supplies Needed For Super Easy Character Eggs


Character Easter Egg Supplies

Plastic Easter eggs (blue & yellow for Minion; green for TMNT; pink for THHB), colored washi tape (or any tape of choice cut to 1/8″-1/4″ width), scissors, glue dots (or Elmer’s glue or a glue gun), a black sharpie marker, and wiggly eyes.

For Minion Eggs

  1. Take the plastic blue and yellow eggs apart.

Minion Character Egg Parts
  1. Mismatch them, putting a yellow top and blue bottom together.

  2. Cut pieces of black tape off  to fit around the egg stretching slightly as you go (we used two hands).

Character Minion black tape applied
  1. Stick the tape towards the top of the yellow half for the Minion glasses strap.

  2. Using glue dots (or glue of choice) attached wiggly eyes into place.

Character Minion wiggly eyes applied
  1. Take the black sharpie marker to draw on hair and a mouth.

Use Black Sharpie to apply

For Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Eggs

  1. Take the plastic green eggs leaving them together.

Character Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
  1. Cut pieces of tape (orange, red, blue & purple) off  to fit around the four different egg heads (Michaelangelo, Leonardo, Raphael, Donatello).

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle washi tape applied
  1. Place the tape around the middle of the green egg stretching slightly as you go (we used two hands).

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles eyes
  1. Using glue dots (or glue of choice) attached wiggly eyes into place.

Michaelangelo, Leonardo, Raphael, Donatello

Raphael, Leonardo, Donatello, Michaelangelo


BONUS: For The Hard Hat Belle Eggs

  1. Take the plastic pink eggs leaving them together.

  2. Print out THHB (or your) picture on plain printer paper.

  3. Cut picture out carefully.

  4. Brush on Mod Podge to back of the  picture and place on egg.

  5. Let dry.

  6. Add wiggly eyes.

  7. Modpodge over picture and egg once to seal

TheHardHatBelles.com

Peonie, THHB, DDDenine, VeeBee



To watch more of our crazy videos check out our YouTube channel “TheHard Hat Belles” or click  The Hard Hat Belles to go directly there.  Once there like and subscribe to receive notifications of the latest video releases.


If you have any comments about how your Decorated Character Easter Eggs  turned out or other ideas for us to try, please let us know below in the comments or you can post them to our Facebook page by clicking here.

Verse Psalm 16:8

Œ


Love & Hugs,

Denine & Wiebke


The Hard Hat Belles Logo
61 views
bottom of page